FLANDERS BATTLEFIELDS PRIVATE TOUR - 8H30 - minimum 2 persons
From Lille or Ypres: $291.40
From Brussels: $339.45
You will discover Fromelles, the Ypres Salient and its major sites:
On the way visit the village of Fromelles where the Australians had their baptism of fire in France in July 1916 and is now the site of the new ‘Cobber’ memorial. Also, visit Pheasant wood where the mass grave of Australians and British soldiers has recently been found and where a new cemetery has been constructed, the first Commonwealth military cemetery since the Second World War.
Armentières was occupied by the 4th Division on 17 October 1914 and it remained within the Allied lines until its evacuation ahead of the German advance on 10 April 1918, after a prolonged and heavy bombardment with gas shell. It was occupied by the Germans next day, and was not recovered until 03 October 1918.
Cité Bonjean Cemetery was begun in October 1914, was used by field ambulances and fighting units until April 1918.
Bailleul: The town is situated to the north-west of Armentières in the Department of Nord. As with many towns in this region of Flanders it suffered damage from invading forces several times.
Hill 60 battlefield and literally dozens of memorials to British, Australian and Canadian regiments. "The name reveals all: this hill is 60 metres above sea level. Hill 60 is one of the last pieces of authentic battlefield ground that can be seen in the salient. Huge mine craters, bunkers and shell holes are still everywhere around. You can also find a Memorial to the 1st Australian Tunnelling Company."
Visit of the Messines Ridge where the Australians were involved in the successful capture in June 1917.
Tyne Cot Cemetery – Passchendaele "With his 12.000 headstones Tyne Cot Cemetery is the largest Commonwealth military cemetery in the world - It is also the most important reminder of the bloody battle of Passchendaele. During the British offensive of 1917 tens of thousands of soldiers died here in a period of one hundred days for a gain of barely eight kilometres. Originally "Tyne Cot" was a bunker on the German Flanders I line. On 4 October 1917, Australian soldiers captured the position and used the bunker as an advanced dressing station."
Polygon Wood (5th Australian Division Memorial) "This name can be found on each Australian monument. Prior to the war, the wood was used as training ground for the Belgian army. It was captured at a high price on 26 September 1917. Next to the wood is Polygon Cemetery. In 2007, five Australian soldiers were reburied here, two of which were identified by DNA. A unique place with a special intimate atmosphere".
Spend time in Ypres itself, with the opportunity to visit St. George's Chapel and the Menin Gate Memorial. "The Menin Gate holds the names of almost 55.000 soldiers who went missing and do not have a known grave. Each year thousands of visitors come to honour them. At the inauguration in 1927 Field-Marshal Plumer spoke the historic words: "He is not missing, he is here".
Tour ends in Lille or Ypres.
- Entrance to "In Flanders Field" museum
- Meals & Optional gratuities & train tickets
- Not wheelchair accessible
Daily departures, subject to availability at time of reservation / Tailored itinerary on demand.